Mayor Garcia to Honor Congressman Alan Lowenthal with a Key to the City

On November 5, 2019, Mayor Robert Garcia will honor Congressman Alan Lowenthal with a Key to the City. 

“Congressman Lowenthal has served our city with distinction for 27 years, beginning in 1992 when he served as a Long Beach City Councilmember for six years, then as State Assemblymember for three terms, followed by two terms as a State Senator, and now as our Congressmember in the United States House of Representatives,” said Mayor Robert Garcia. “It is an honor to present Congressman Lowenthal with a Key to the City for his outstanding contributions to the City of Long Beach. There is truly no one better in our city to represent us in Washington, D.C.”

Source: RepLowenthal IG

“I am incredibly honored to be recognized by our community with a Key to the City,” said Congressman Lowenthal “Long Beach has, and will always be, home to me. It is an incredible city filled with amazing people and I have been so honored to serve them.”

Congressman Lowenthal is serving his fourth term as the representative for California’s 47th District which encompasses portions of northwestern Orange County as well as various areas of southeastern Los Angeles County including Lakewood, Signal Hill, Downey, and Long Beach.

As a City Council member, and then as a state legislator, the Congressman fought against the then-commonplace private and public sector belief that environmental protection and economic success at the ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles were mutually exclusive. His landmark environmental legislative efforts helped lead the two adjacent ports to become the cleanest and greenest ports in the world, while at the same time remaining the busiest and most successful container ports in the Western Hemisphere. The green business model advocated by the Congressman and instituted by the two ports has become a role model for ports throughout the world.

In the House of Representatives, Congressman Lowenthal currently serves on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and the House Natural Resources Committee.